Monday, 1 July 2013

The Marquesas are a collection of lots of islands

The Marquesas Islands are a group of 12 ancient volcanoes, which are divided into two distinct groups. The two groups are 98 km apart. The northern group comprises three inhabited islands and four uninhabited islands; the southern group 5 islands, two of which are uninhabited. The Marquesas are a small group of islands having a total surface area of 1300 km2 (492 sq miles), which is less than the total area of Tahiti. Here is a tale from one traveller:

No comments: